About Beaver Watershed Alliance

The Beaver Watershed Alliance was formed in 2011 to establish programming to maintain high quality drinking water in Beaver Lake and improve water quality on the Beaver Lake Watershed. The Alliance represents a diverse stakeholder group from conservation, education, water utilities, technical and science, business, agriculture, recreation, and local government groups working together for the cause of clean water.

Who We Are:

Apply Now

Clell Ford, Executive Director

Clell joined the Beaver Watershed Alliance in May 2018. He has a B.A. in Biology from Hendrix College and a M.S. in Ecology from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Clell spent 21 years as Lakes Manager for Highlands County, Florida, with its 100 + lakes in the headwaters of the Lake Okeechobee watershed and specializes in water quality management, sediment investigations, lake management, restoration and protection. Clell has a passion for environmental education, watershed research and protection. He and his wife Toni have two grown daughters who travel the world.

Becky Roark

Becky Roark, Outreach Director

Becky joined the Alliance in December, 2016. She holds a B.S. in Landscape Architecture from the University of Arkansas. Becky has worked within the water quality and conservation fields since 2010, helping to develop the Low Impact Development Manual – A Design Manual for Urban Areas while interning at the U of A Community Design Center, she has served as an Americorps Volunteer with the U of A Office of Sustainability and Project Manager for the Illinois River Watershed Partnership where she designed and installed over 75 rain gardens in both the Beaver Lake and Illinois River Watersheds, helping to increase green infrastructure technologies for this region. Becky is passionate about watershed protection, native plants, and the preservation of natural areas, serves on the Fayetteville Natural Heritage Board, enjoys kayaking and bass fishing, and spending time with her two children, Luke and Abby.


Carrie Byron, Outreach Coordinator

Carrie Byron joined the Beaver Watershed Alliance team in January 2019 as the Outreach Coordinator. She holds a B.A. in Biology and has conducted wildlife research in Africa, Yellowstone National Park, the Boundary Waters, and Ontario. For 13 years, she was the General Manager of Yellowstone Wilderness Outfitters, guiding interpretive ecology tours in the remote Yellowstone backcountry on horseback. She has spent winters on her Ozark farm for the past decade, where she raises bison and trains horses. Carrie can be reached at 479-750-8007 or carrie@beaverwatershedalliance.org.

Melissa Welch

Melissa Welch, Program Coordinator

Melissa joined the Alliance in September 2016. She was born in Alabama and has lived in Arkansas since 2013. She holds a B.S. in Biology from Rhodes College and is working on her M.S. in Biology at the University of Arkansas. Melissa has worked as a teaching assistant for the past 3 years at the U of A, while researching aquatic invertebrates in streams throughout Northwest Arkansas. She also is part of a Stream Smart volunteer group that does quarterly water quality reports on Baldwin Creek in the Beaver Lake Watershed. Melissa lives in Springdale, Arkansas and enjoys kayaking, hiking, and scuba diving. Melissa can be reached at melissa@beaverwatershedalliance.org or by phone at 479-750-8007.

Nate Weston

Nate Weston, Program Coordinator

Nate joined the Alliance in July 2017. An exceptionally non-traditional student – he grew up on a semi-truck – he holds a B.S. in Environmental Science from the University of Central Arkansas and an A.A. from the University of Arkansas Community College in Morrilton. He worked as a Restoration Assistant for the Jewel Moore Nature Reserve during his undergraduate, later interning under Ecologist Theo Witsell with the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission. He was hired as Research Assistant after completing his internship, assisting in the herbarium and field surveys looking for rare plants. Nate lives in Fayetteville, enjoys camping, hiking, and gaming and is passionate about native plants, biogeography, and ecological restoration. Nate can be reached at nate@beaverwatershedalliance.org or by phone at 417-766-0852.

Alliance Board of Directors

  • Jeff Marley, President
    Madison County Landowner
  • Patsy Christie, Treasurer
    City of Springdale
  • Brian Teague, Secretary
    Community by Design
  • James McCarty, Beaver Water District
  • Bob Caulk, AR Natural Heritage Association, Retired
  • Barbara Taylor, AR Natural Heritage Association, UA, Retired
  • Richard Stone, City of Lowell
  • Robert Morgan, Beaver Water District, Retired
  • Billy Ammons, CH2M Hill
  • Steve Brannan, Madison County Landowner
  • Ray Eaton, Mt Olive Water Association
  • Juliet Richey, Garver
  • Lonnie Horn, Washington County Farm Bureau and Landowner
  • Jay Schneider, Hobbs State Park and Conservation Area
  • Will Winn, Winn Environmental Tech, LLC
  • Frank Weaver, Madison County Judge
  • Steve Ford, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Retired
  • Larry Johnson, Real Estate Agent
  • Terry Phillips, Springdale Water Utilities
  • Kirby McAllister, Senior Environmental Manager, Tyson Foods
  • Greg Wheeler, Madison County Landowner